Log in
  • Home
  • Blog
  • APP-HRF Committee President: Pam Chen

APP-HRF Committee President: Pam Chen

11 Dec 2019 7:48 PM | Georgina Frank (Administrator)

Life before and after podiatry: 

I grew up in Singapore and moved to Perth, WA to study podiatry in 2007, and then to Hobart in early 2011.

I had a boring childhood/youth and spent heaps of time studying and doing competitive sport (golf)! Have generally been really sporty and played national-level golf, netball, and coached ultimate Frisbee over the years….

What drives you?

Adventure – being willing to broaden horizons, challenge myself and not have my vision stuck in the smallness of everyday routine. At the same time discipline and consistency are really important to me; there is no substitute for hard work!  

Being so busy I try and find efficiencies in whatever I do, there are only so many hours in the day and no point wasting any of it! 

On a personal level I really value honesty and being able to reflect and be teachable – something I strive to be and look for in co-workers and friends 

What Podcasts/Books/Music are you listening to or reading at the moment?

I don’t really have time for fiction…. The last book I read was “Tiny but Mighty – Kitten Lady’s guide to saving the most vulnerable kittens”… necessary reading whilst preparing to midwife and foster rescue kitties! 

I must say I am looking forward to the last instalment of Star Wars (Episode 9) which is due out December 20 and that’s probably the one time a year I head to the movies - #StarWars: #TheRiseOfSkywalker 

What do you enjoy doing when you are not working?

You’ll find me at my local F45 studio pumping out burpees or some funky move, or on a spin bike or doing laps in the pool. Exercise is SO important to helping me function and it’s a great way to de-stress and challenge myself physically. I wish I had more time for golf again but that’s near impossible (being a 6 hour commitment at the best of times). 

I am also working on my growing gin collection (just over 40 now!) and my bucket list includes attending gin festivals all around the world! 

I have 10 (yes!) foster cats and kittens (the kittens are 4 and 8 weeks old) at the moment on top of my three fur babies and looking after them and watching them (hopefully) find homes in the new year will be the most rewarding thing.…

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software