Log in

Morica Tran

14 Mar 2022 11:43 AM | Georgina Frank (Administrator)

What's your background

My name is Morica and I was born in Melbourne, Victoria. My parents were refugees from Cambodia who fled to Australia in the 1970s, as a result of the Khmer Rouge Communist war.

Growing up, I spent a lot of time with my grandma who often shared stories of my family’s survivorship. She spoke about my family’s desire for a better life, away from the violence, loss and famine. Her shared stories were those I could appreciate but will never really understand.

I have a strong connection to my heritage and a strong appreciation for my background. When I was a kid, and even now, my family often blended Cambodian traditions and cultures with Australian traditions and cultures – Anyone who knows me would know that Christmas is my favourite time of the year!

My family’s history isn’t unique. Having grown up with a mixed culture has really allowed me to be appreciative of opportunities and be truly grateful for what I have.

What are the values that drive you?

I am pretty determined and will often keep trying until I reach my goals. In friendships, I value those who are honest and who act in integrity. I also value humour and light heartedness.

Your top 3 favourite podcasts/book?

If it’s professionally related: 

  • I highly recommend the Researcher app. It’s an easy to use app that has an easy to use
     filter to find your topic of interest - It’s so handy. I often scroll and read while I’m on the train on the way to work.
  • Another great resource is the APodA Podcast which has a bucketload of topics to pick and choose from.

I’m not much of a reader. The most recent novel I read and enjoyed is Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton, which is a story about triumph and defying the odds.

I also really enjoy Tik Tok and Instagram, and will spend countless hours watching absolutely nothing - It’s almost a hobby!

what do you enjoy doing when you are not working?

My husband and I have recently converted an old van into a campervan. When I’m not busy working/studying, we like to take our housemate (Rogue, 4 year old Staffy) traveling with us. We’ve just started traveling around country Victoria on the weekends, but hope to travel around Australia once we have more time. Rogue has even learnt how to paddleboard!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software